(+237) 696 32 53 19 - (+237) 678 61 72 07

  secretariat@commune-ebone.com

BACKGROUND HISTORY

OF THE TOWN

The commune of EBONE was created by Decree No. 95/082 of April 24, 1995 establishing rural communes. His name EBONE is a Western deformation of the surname EBONO, one of the descendants of the eponymous ancestor NKAASONGO.


Come

and Discover

The assets of our town

NKAASONGO would have come from the valley of the upper course of the NKAM river (sector called small NKAM / MANDJIBO. EBONO was the little brother of NDONG, from which also comes the name NDOUNGUE. Their father NKAASONGO, occupied the locality which goes from NDOUNGUE to SINGUENDIANG.

The commune of EBONE has an area of ​​approximately 140 km², it extends between 9 ° 51 'and 9 ° 30' East longitude and between 4 ° 57 'and 4 ° 51' North latitude. 'EBONE, capital of the commune of the same name, depends on the canton BAKAKA made up of 20 villages. Together with the BALONDO canton, made up of three (3) villages (NLONAKO-BALONDO, BADJONG AND NYAMSA), it forms all 23 villages of the commune of EBONE.

According to the last general population census, the commune of EBONE had 14,261 inhabitants. To date, with an annual growth rate of 2.80% and the impact of recent installations, the population of the municipality is estimated at 19,864 inhabitants with very irregular density gradients insofar as, while some villages are very sparsely inhabited, the localities of BAKWAT, MANENGOLE, NDOUNGUE, EBONE have fairly high densities.

The populations of the commune of EBONE are cosmopolitan. In addition to the BAKAKA and BALONDO, whose population is old, there is a diversity of newly settled communities (People of the Great Sawa Space, nationals of the Western Highlands, National Communities of the Far North, Ekang Communities, expatriates, communities of English-speaking expression, etc.). The peaceful coexistence of all these communities, social cohesion and living together are one of the peculiarities that make the pride and charm of the Municipality of EBONE.

The economy of the Municipality bears a very strong imprint of rurality, agro-pastoral activity and its related services still occupying the majority of the population. The production of palm oil, plantain tubers, hunting and collecting forest products are important in the Commune. Commerce is also booming, business opportunities are more apparent, demand is on the rise and consumption habits have changed significantly.

On the religious level, the faith in the commune of EBONE is supported by several obediences, namely: the Catholic, Protestant, Muslim religion and Jehovah's Witnesses. However, ancestral worship practices still have pride of place.

Share

Photos

(+237) 696 32 53 19 - (+237) 678 61 72 07

  secretariat@commune-ebone.com

HISTORIQUE

DE LA COMMUNE

La  commune D’EBONE est créée  par Décret N° 95/082 du 24 avril 1995 portant création de communes rurales. Son nom EBONE est une déformation occidentale du patronyme EBONO, l’un des descendants de l’ancêtre éponyme  NKAASONGO.


NKAASONGO serait venu de la vallée du cours supérieur du fleuve NKAM (secteur dit petit NKAM/MANDJIBO. EBONO était le petit frère de NDONG, d’où vient aussi le nom NDOUNGUE. Leur père NKAASONGO, occupait de la localité qui va de  NDOUNGUE à SINGUENDIANG.

La commune D’EBONE a une superficie d’’environ 140 km², elle s’étend entre 9°51’ et 9°30’de longitude Est et entre 4°57’ et 4°51’ de latitude Nord.Le bourg d’EBONE,chef-lieu de la commune du même nom, dépend du canton BAKAKA constitué de 20 villages. Il forme avec le canton BALONDO constitué de trois (3) villages (NLONAKO-BALONDO, BADJONG ET NYAMSA), l’ensemble des 23 villages de la commune d’EBONE.

La commune d’EBONE comptait, d’après le dernier recensement général de la population 14261 habitants. A ce jour, avec un taux de croissance annuel qui se situe à 2,80% et l’impact des installations récentes, la population de la commune est estimée à 19864 habitants avec des gradients de densité très irréguliers dans la mesure où, alors que certains villages sont très faiblement habitées, les localités de BAKWAT, MANENGOLE, NDOUNGUE, EBONE connaissent d’assez fortes densités.

Les populations de la commune d’EBONE sont cosmopolites. En plus des BAKAKA et BALONDO dont le peuplement est ancien, on y trouve une diversité de  communautés nouvellement installées (Peuple du Grand espace Sawa, ressortissants des hautes terres de l’Ouest, Communautés nationales du Grand Nord, Communautés Ekang, expatriés, communautés d’expression anglophone, etc.). La cohabitation pacifique de toutes ces communautés, la  cohésion sociale et le vivre ensemble sont une des particularités qui font la fierté et le charme de la Commune d’EBONE.

L’économie de la Commune porte une très forte empreinte de la ruralité, l’activité agropastorale  et ses services connexes occupant encore l’essentiel de la population. La production de l’huile de palme, de tubercules de banane plantain, la chasse et le ramassage des produits forestiers  sont importants dans la Commune. Le Commerce est aussi en plein essor, les opportunités d’affaires étant plus apparentes, la demande étant en hausse et les habitudes de consommation ayant fortement évolué.

Sur le plan religieux, la foi dans la commune d’EBONE est soutenue par plusieurs obédiences à savoir : la religion catholique, protestante, musulmane et les témoins de Jéhovah. Les pratiques cultuelles ancestrales y ont cependant encore une place de choix.

Partager

Photos